1982-1998 & 1999-2020 Final Teams of the Eras Announced

The St George District Rugby League Football Club officially announced their Teams for the final two eras being “Modern Masters” (1982-1998) and “Twenty-First Century Dragons” (1999-2020). During these eras the Dragons made Grand Finals on six occasions (1985, 1992-93, 1996, 1999 and 2010) and finally broke the drought in 2010 when Ben Hornby led the Dragons to a victory over the Roosters.

In 1985, the Dragons went close to their best ever season when they captured the Club Championship in emphatic style and then, on Grand Final day, claimed the Reserve Grade and Under 23 titles only to edged out 7-6 by Canterbury-Bankstown in First Grade in front of almost 45,000 fans at the SCG. It was a frustrating game for St George as Canterbury used the “bomb” to great advantage making it very difficult for the Dragons to get out of their in-goal area. In 1986 the NSWRL changed the rule to what is now the 20-metre restart for “diffusing an attacking bomb”.

The First-Grade team that day included Michael O’Connor, Steve Morris, Graeme Wynn, Craig Young and Pat Jarvis – all of whom made the 1982-1988 Team of the Era. Whilst Brad Mackay, selected at Lock Forward in this Team of the Era is the only player in the club’s history to play for Illawarra, St George and St George Illawarra

In 1988, led by captain Craig Young, in his final season at the club, the Dragons won the midweek Panasonic Cup beating Balmain Tigers 1988.

The 1999-2020 Team of the Era is dominated by the 2010, Wayne Bennett coached NRL Premiers, supplying 10 players and the coach. Four more players – Trent Barrett, Nathan Blacklock, Shaun Timmins and Lance Thompson, with over 600 top grade games between them for the Red V, came from the inaugural joint venture squad in 1999.

The countdown to the pinnacle of the 100-year celebration – the naming of the “Team of the Century” – now begins. This team will be announced at an exclusive event on Wednesday, July 20.

As part of the St George DRLFC Centenary celebration a selection panel was formed to decide on the 17 players and coach that would form the Dragons “Team of the Century”. With over 1000 players having worn the famous white with red v jersey the panel decided that this selection process should be broken up into six era teams. The “Team of Century” would then be chosen from these six “Teams of the Eras”.

Chairman, Craig Young explained

“The Team of the Century and Team of the Era’s concepts were born out of our History Committee who wanted to see that we appropriately recognise and honour those who have made our Club one of the most famous and recognisable in world sport.

“We put together a highly credential selection panel chaired by former coach, and now respected journalist, Roy Masters, and the premise on which the Team of the Century is based, is that all eras in the history of the club have produced great players, and this process ensures that the greatest players from all eras are recognised.

“Selectors were asked to consider a range of qualities such as: skill, durability, courage, character, versatility, leadership, representative honours etc and all players were judged on their performances for the Club or representative football in the years they represented the Club,”.


Brian Johnson, Steve Morris, Mark Coyne, Michael O’Connor, Ricky Walford, Anthony Mundine, Noel Goldthorpe, Brad Mackay, Graeme Wynn, Gorden Tallis, Craig Young, Nathan Brown, Pat Jarvis. Bench: Brian Johnston, Scott Gourley, David Barnhill, Wayne Bartrim. Coach: Roy Masters


Darius Boyd, Brett Morris, Mark Gasnier, Matt Cooper, Jason Nightingale, Trent Barrett, Ben Hornby, Ben Creagh, Beau Scott, Tyson Frizell, Luke Bailey, Dean Young, Jason Ryles. Bench: Nathan Blacklock, Shaun Timmins, Lance Thompson, Michael Weyman. Coach: Wayne Bennett

See the announcement videos below

See who made the Teams of the Era’s for 1920-1940 and 1941-1955

See who made the Teams of the Era’s for 1956-1966 and 1967-1981

The Team of the Century will be announced on July 20.

Team of the Era 1982-1998

Team of the Era 1999-2020