Dragons Team of the Century Announced

The St George District Rugby League Football Club has tonight unveiled their “Team of the Century” with a delayed celebratory event within the Spirit of the Red V Museum at St George Leagues Club in Kogarah.

The St George Club, established in 1921, celebrated their centenary in 2021. However, COVID-19 caused a disruption and delay to the celebrations, which included, the recognition of six Teams of the Eras, selection of the 100 Greatest Dragons and, finally, the Team of the Century.

The Team of the Century was chosen by a panel of former players, officials, rugby league journalists and historians. They considered a range of criteria, including skill, durability, courage, versatility, leadership and representative honours; noting that players’ were judged only on what they achieved, while playing for the Dragons.

The team is dominated by players from the world record ‘never before, never again’ 11 consecutive premierships (1956-66), including the Club’s four Immortals: Reg Gasnier, Graeme Langlands, John Raper and Norm Provan.

The team also contains a representative from every Premiership winning team across the 100 years – St George in 1941, 1949, 1956-66, 1977, 1979 and St George Illawarra in 2010. Mark Gasnier is the only modern-day player selected in the centenary team, named to partner his uncle Reg, in the centres.

“The selection of the final team followed a very comprehensive process where era teams were chosen, followed by a round-table discussion with representatives from each of the era selection committees, that ultimately led to the final selection by a panel of three,” said chairman of selectors and former Dragons coach, Roy Masters.

“Some positions presented monumental challenges because of the plethora of talent available but ultimately, St George supporters should be very proud of their centenary team. It is arguably the greatest combination of club players in the history of rugby league”.

Frank Burge was chosen as the coach of this historic team. He had two stints as coach, 1927-1930 and 1937-1939.

As a player, Burge was one of the game’s greatest forwards and as St George captain coach in 1927, he took over the team that had run last in 1926 and led them to the final in 1927.  Under his leadership, the Dragons made the finals in each of his years as coach at the club and while he didn’t capture a premiership during this time, he established a tradition of excellence that became the club’s trademark.

The Dragons Team of the Century 1921 – 2021


Buy Your Piece of History – check our range of merchandise

Teams of the Eras




Dragons 100 Greatest Players